Eurofins to receive Black Pearl Award, Other IAFP Award Announced

Eurofins to receive Black Pearl Award, Other IAFP Award Announced

IAFP to present Black Pearl and food safety excellence awards at Annual Meeting in July.

May 23, 2018

The International Association for Food Protection (IAFP) selected Eurofins Scientific, Inc. as the 2018 recipient of the Black Pearl Award. Sponsored by F&H Food Equipment Company, the Black Pearl Award will be presented at IAFP’s Annual Meeting in Salt Lake City, Utah, in July.

This honor is given annually to one company for its efforts in advancing food safety and quality through consumer programs, employee relations, educational activities, adherence to standards, and support of the goals and objectives of IAFP.

Celebrating 30 years in 2018, Eurofins Scientific, Inc. began as a business in food testing, when Gilles Martin purchased the rights to the SNIF-NMR technology, developed by his parents. Dr. Martin then expanded application of the method to a wide range of products, including fruit juices and other non-alcoholic beverages. The business quickly grew, and today includes more than 400 laboratories across 44 countries, a curriculum of training courses, and award-winning auditing and certification services. With a portfolio of more than 150,000 analytical methods and a commitment to outstanding client service, Eurofins has grown to become a global leader in food safety.

IAFP will also present awards recognizing excellence in food safety to the following organizations and individuals:

  • Loralyn H. Ledenbach, Kraft Heinz Company, Glenview, Ill.; and Ruth L. Petran, Ecolab, Saint Paul, Minn. The IAFP Fellow Award, awarded to professionals who have contributed to IAFP and its affiliates with distinction over an extended period of time.
  • Jenny Scott, FDA, College Park, Md. The President’s Lifetime Achievement Award, given at the discretion of the IAFP President, recognizing an individual who has made a lasting impact on Advancing Food Safety Worldwide through a lifetime of professional achievements in food protection. She also will receive the GMA Food Safety Award in recognition of a long history of outstanding contributions to food safety research and education.
  • P. Michael Davison, University of Tennessee (Professor Emeritus), Coeur D’Alene, Idaho; Michael P. Doyle, University of Georgia (Regents Professor), Athens, Ga.; Steven C. Murphy, Cornell University (retired), Ithaca, N.Y., and Dairy Practices Council, Freeville, N.Y.; Terence Peters, Government of Canada (retired), Richmond, British Columbia; and Kathleen T. Rajkowski, USDA (retired), Harleysville, Penn. The Honorary Life Membership Award, recognizing members for their dedication to the ideals and objectives of IAFP and service to the association.
  • Vickie J. Lewandowski, Saputo Cheese, USA, Lincolnshire, Ill. The Harry Haverland Citation Award for years of devotion to the ideals and objectives of the Association.
  • Merieux NutriSciences, Chicago, Illinois. The Food Safety Innovation Award, given for its development of the QualMap  application.
  • Roy Biggs, Biggs Food Consultancy, LTD, Whanganui, New Zealand,. The International Leadership Award for dedication to the ideals and objectives of IAFP and promotion of the mission of the association in countries outside the U.S. and Canada.
  • Donald W. Schaffner, Rutgers, The University of New Jersey, New Brunswick, N.J. The Frozen Food Foundation Freezing Research Award honoring an individual, group, or organization for preeminence and outstanding contributions in research that impacts food safety attributes of freezing.
  • Manan Sharma, USDA, Beltsville, Md. The Maurice Weber Laboratorian Award recognizing his service for outstanding contributions in the laboratory and a commitment to the development of innovative and practical analytical approaches in support of food safety.
  • Xiangyu Deng, University of Georgia, Athens, Ga. The Larry Beuchat Young Researcher Award presented to a young researcher who has shown outstanding ability and professional promise in the early years of his or her career.
  • Barbara Buck Kowalcyk, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio. The Ewen C.D. Todd Control of Foodborne Illness Award recognizing an individual for dedicated and exceptional contributions to the reduction of risks of foodborne illness.
  • Connie M. Freese, Public Health – Dayton and Montgomery County, Dayton, Ohio. The Sanitarian Award to recognize her dedication and exceptional service to the profession of sanitarian, serving the public and the food industry.
  • Trevor Vincent Suslow, University of California – Davis, Davis, Calif. The Elmer Marth Educator Award recognizing his dedication and exceptional contributions to the profession of the educator.
  • Pamela Wilger, Cargill, Minneapolis, Minn. The Harold Barnum Industry Award recognizing her outstanding service to IAFP, the public and the food industry.